Archives for posts with tag: penny layden


A really big thank you to everybody who voted in Studio Theatre Awards 2014. Voting was in some cases double that of 2013 and ended at 4pm today, 7th January 2015. The results are confirmed as follows;


Nominees (in no specific order)

Camden Peoples Theatre – London NW1

The Albany – London SE8

Southwark Playhouse – London SE1

Winner  2014   3MT – Manchester


Nominees (in no specific order)

Privacy by James Graham – Donmar Warehouse, London WC2H

Meet the Real Maggie Thatcher by Mike Francis Carvalho – Upstairs Western, Leicester (and touring)

Pests by Vivienne Franzmann – The Royal Court, London SW1W

Winner 2014  Dead Dog in a Suitcase by Carl Grose – Everyman Theatre, Liverpool


Nominees (in no specific order)

Penny Layden in Beryl – West Yorkshire Playhouse, Leeds

Ellie Kendrick in Pests – The Royal Court, London SW1W

Winner 2014  Gillian Hardie in Broken Biscuits – Lantern Theatre, Liverpool


Nominees (in no specific order)

Kenneth Cranham in The Father – Ustinov Studio, Bath

Gary Beadle in The Room in the Elephant – Arcola Theatre, London E8

Winner 2014  Karl Greenwood in Stuff – 247 Festival, Manchester


Winner 2014  David Chadderton – Editor of the British Theatre Guide

Congratulations to all winners and nominees in this year’s awards. The results are totally decided by the theatre going public and in answer to whether your individual votes make a difference, in one instance this year the winning margin was as narrow as two votes. Have a lovely year of theatre and be ready for the next Studio Theatre Awards later in 2015. Follow @playgirlreviews for regular information and updates. Remember, we cannot possibly keep track of every great production so we rely on your continued feedback and support.

Nominations and recommendations for 2014 have been sorted through and voting is now open in the four main categories. Voting is open to all and closes 4pm Wednesday 7th January 2015 following #TheatreHour forum on twitter. Please follow @playgirlreviews for news and updates. Good luck to all the excellent candidates in this year’s awards.

photo 2

Nigel Ellacott with his Studio Theatre Award from 2013