Archives for posts with tag: #StudioTheatreAwards


A really big thank you to everybody who voted in Studio Theatre Awards 2014. Voting was in some cases double that of 2013 and ended at 4pm today, 7th January 2015. The results are confirmed as follows;


Nominees (in no specific order)

Camden Peoples Theatre – London NW1

The Albany – London SE8

Southwark Playhouse – London SE1

Winner  2014   3MT – Manchester


Nominees (in no specific order)

Privacy by James Graham – Donmar Warehouse, London WC2H

Meet the Real Maggie Thatcher by Mike Francis Carvalho – Upstairs Western, Leicester (and touring)

Pests by Vivienne Franzmann – The Royal Court, London SW1W

Winner 2014  Dead Dog in a Suitcase by Carl Grose – Everyman Theatre, Liverpool


Nominees (in no specific order)

Penny Layden in Beryl – West Yorkshire Playhouse, Leeds

Ellie Kendrick in Pests – The Royal Court, London SW1W

Winner 2014  Gillian Hardie in Broken Biscuits – Lantern Theatre, Liverpool


Nominees (in no specific order)

Kenneth Cranham in The Father – Ustinov Studio, Bath

Gary Beadle in The Room in the Elephant – Arcola Theatre, London E8

Winner 2014  Karl Greenwood in Stuff – 247 Festival, Manchester


Winner 2014  David Chadderton – Editor of the British Theatre Guide

Congratulations to all winners and nominees in this year’s awards. The results are totally decided by the theatre going public and in answer to whether your individual votes make a difference, in one instance this year the winning margin was as narrow as two votes. Have a lovely year of theatre and be ready for the next Studio Theatre Awards later in 2015. Follow @playgirlreviews for regular information and updates. Remember, we cannot possibly keep track of every great production so we rely on your continued feedback and support.



Best Actor (Male) – Jon Coleman as Waiting Man – Nowt Part of Festival 2013

Best Actor (Female) – Frances Ruffelle as Piaf – Curve Theatre, Leicester 2013

Best Play – Blood and Chocolate – Mike Kenny – Pilot Theatre, York 2013

Best Venue – 3 Minute Theatre, Manchester

Services to UK Independent Theatre – Nigel Ellacott & Simon Curtis  –

Congratulations to the above and best wishes to all nominees. Thanks to everyone for voting and making this year’s Studio Theatre Awards such a truly tremendous success.


Jon Coleman as the Waiting Man at Nowt Part Of Festival

(Photo courtesy of Town Talk Manchester)

Frances Ruffelle as Piaf – Curve Theatre, Leicester

Blood and Chocolate – Pilot Theatre, York

3 Minute Theatre – Manchester


Nigel Ellacott & Simon Curtis of

Voting volume has been tremendous so far in this year’s UK Independent Theatre Awards. It is open to absolutely everybody with computer access (See form below) and no formal registration is required. One set of votes per visitor and voting will close at 6pm on Friday 3rd Jan 2014.

Last year’s winners for Best Actor Male went to Keith Fleming for his role as Bobby Burgess in Beautiful Burnout and Best Actor Female to Hilly Barber for Hevi/Café Woman in Interpreter Home at the Manchester 24:7 Theatre Festival.


Voting is now open for the Studio Theatre Awards 2013. Votes will be counted by using the above system and updates will be posted on @playgirlreviews on twitter. You do not have to vote in every category and voting is open to everyone. Only one set of votes per person will be counted and voting closes at 6pm on Friday 3rd January 2014. Results will be posted subsequently.